Southern Sudan Referendum Rules for Out-of-Country Registration & Voting

[Montréal, Québec, Canada -7°C] Registration for Southern Sudan’s self-determination referendum begins today and continues until December 1, 2010. According to the Southern Sudan Referendum Commission (SSRC) website, registration and voting centers have been established in 8 countries “with the largest numbers of Southern Sudanese living outside Sudan.” The countries are Australia, Canada (Toronto and Calgary), Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, the United Kingdom (UK) and the United States of America (USA). The International Organization for Migration (IOM) will be assisting the SSRC at its request in organizing the OCV.”

To be eligible to participate in the January 9, 2011 referendum, voters must meet one of three criteria as established by the SSRC: 1) Voter who belongs to one of the indigenous ethnic communities residing in the Southern Sudan (on or before January 1956; 2) Voter who traces his/her ancestry to one of the indigenous ethnic communities in Southern Sudan, but has not permanently resided in the south (without interruption) before or since Jan 1956; and 3) voter who does not belong to one of the indigenous ethnic communities in the Southern Sudan, but he/she or his/her parents or grand-parents are permanently residing in the South (without interruption) since 1st January 1956.


Below are two video interviews by Ariic Reng, Canadian Outreach Assistant with the International Organization for Migration:

Interview with Dr. Mom Kou Nhial Arou, Assistant Secretary General, Southern Sudan Referendum Commission

Interview with Gatdeet Wakou, Canadian Representative, Southern Sudan Referendum Commission

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *